Some Information About the Indian Five Year Plan

Deal Score+1

Some Information About the Indian Five Year Plan

Economic planning is the process in which the limited natural resources are used skillfully so as to achieve the desired goals. The concept of economic planning in India or five year plan is derived from the Russia (then USSR). India has launched 12 five year plans so far and 12th five year plan will be the last plan because since 2017 the government of India (NITI Aayog) has decided to stop the launching of five year plans in India.

From 1947 to 2017, the Indian economy was premised on the concept of planning. This was carried through the Five-Year Plans, developed, executed, and monitored by the Planning Commission (1951 – 2014) and the NITI Aayog (2014 – 2017). With the Prime Minister as the ex-officio Chairman, the commission has a nominated Deputy Chairman, who holds the rank of a Cabinet Minister. Montek Singh Ahluwalia is the last Deputy Chairman of the Commission (resigned on 26 May 2014). The Eleventh Plan completed its term in March 2012 and the Twelfth Plan is currently underway. Prior to the Fourth Plan, the allocation of state resources was based on schematic patterns rather than a transparent and objective mechanism, which led to the adoption of the Gadgil formula in 1969. Revised versions of the formula have been used since then to determine the allocation of central assistance for state plans. The new government led by Narendra Modi, elected in 2014, has announced the dissolution of the Planning Commission, and its replacement by a think tank called the NITI Aayog (an acronym for National Institution for Transforming India).

Click Here To Download
1 Comment
  1. Reply
    ครีมหน้าขาว May 16, 2018 at 6:21 am

    What’s up, its nice paragraph regarding media print, we all be
    aware of media is a enormous source of information.

Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Exam Study Materials For Government Exams