SAARC Countries List 2017 – Exam Study Notes

Deal Score+2

SAARC Countries List 2017 – Exam Study Notes

SAARC Countries List 2017

SAARC Countries List 2017 : 

The South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) is the regional intergovernmental organization and geopolitical union of nations in South Asia.

Headquarters – Kathmandu, Nepal
Founded – 8 December 1985, Dhaka, Bangladesh
Formation – 16 January 1987
Secretary-General– Arjun Bahadur Thapa

List of SAARC member countries (8)

  • Afghanistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • India
  • Maldives
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka

Objectives of SAARC

  • To improve the quality of life of the peoples of South Asia
  • To accelerate economic growth and social progress the South Asian region
  • To provide all individuals with the opportunity to live in dignity
  • To strengthen collective self-reliance among the countries of South Asia
  • To promote active collaboration and mutual assistance in the economic, social, cultural, technical and scientific fields
  • To strengthen cooperation with other developing countries
  • To cooperate with similar organizations with similar goals

SAARC Summit Held –

  • 18th SAARC Summit 2014 – Kathmandu, Nepal
  • 19th SAARC Summit 2016 – Islamabad, Pakistan (Cancelled, as Indian Bhutan, Bangladesh and Afganistan boycotted the summit)


Exam Study Materials For Government Exams